New Wave Band  

studio group 1970
info courtesy Olaf Owre


  • Eric Stewart - electric and acoustic guitar/vocals
  • Derek Leckenby - acoustic guitar
  • Lol Creme - bass/vocals
  • Kevin Godley - drums/vocals 

In 1970, years before the term 'new wave' was invented in music, Eric Stewart, a former member of The Mindbenders and The Emperors Of Rhythm, brought a few friends together in the studio to record a single under the name The New Wave Band.

With Lek Leckenby from Herman’s Hermits in to play acoustic guitar alongside Eric Stewart they recorded an excellent cover of the Simon and Garfunkel hit 'Cecilia'. Lol Creme and Kevin Godley were also on the sessions doing backup vocals and playing bass and drums respectively.

The B-side 'Free Free Free' was one of the first tracks Eric Stewart recorded after Inter City Studios, originally located over the Neild and Hardy hi-fi store in Stockport, moved to new premises and re-opened as Strawberry Studios in the Waterloo Road building.

Harvey Lisberg of Kennedy Street Enterprises is credited as producer on the record label, but it was Eric Stewart who did the job.

The New Wave Band’s rendition of 'Cecilia' was released on the Major Minor label, but the single went absolutely nowhere in the UK. It was also released in Spain and Argentina, but fared no better there.

Creme, Godley and Stewart, however, were soon to find fame as a trio called Hotlegs when ”Neanderthal Man” became a massive seller in the summer of 1970.

A couple of years later they went on to form 10cc with Graham Gouldman. 


7": Cecilia (Paul Simon)/Free Free Free (Eric Stewart) Major Minor MM 694 /70

7": Libre Libre Libre (Eric Stewart)/Cecilia (Paul Simon) Major Minor/Disc Jockey Records TS 486 /70

7": Cecilia (Paul Simon)/Free Free Free (Eric Stewart) Columbia MO 786 with artwork sleeve /70

7": Cecilia (Paul Simon)/Free Free Free (Eric Stewart) Major Minor MMR/NP 03004 with artwork sleeve /70

“Capissimo” promo only compilation album on RCA TLM-001, 1970.

The LP was given as a bonus to people who bought a new RCA turntable launched in Chile in 1970. It contains 12 tracks including “Cecilia” by The New Wave Band.

Other artists featured are The Guess Who, Nilsson, Rare Earth, Nicola Di Bari, Stevie Wonder, Giorgio, Larry Robbins, Rogers Mitchell, Dyango and Domenico Modugno. 

  • newwaveband_A_Argentina
  • newwave_creme_1970
  • newwaveband_italy_A
  • newwave_leckenby_1970
  • newwaveband_italy_B
  • newwaveband_B_Argentina
  • newwaveband_capissimo
  • newwaveband_A_UK
  • newwaveband_B_UK
  • newwaveband_mm_italy 1970
  • newwave45sleeve_spain
  • newwave_stewart_1970
  • newwave_godley_1970
  • newwaveband_B_Spain
  • newwaveband_A_Spain

Comments powered by CComment